It Isn’t Real

I love the way you hold my hands,
When I might just lose my way.
Every second, every minute,
Every hour of every day.
But then I remember, it isn’t real.

I love the way your teeth shine,
Every time you smile at me.
No words needed, I know you’re mine,
Joy and love as sweet as tea.
But then I remember, it isn’t real.

I see you across the room,
And I know you know I love you.
One short glance and our eyes are locked,
I can’t help it, I’m stuck like glue.
But then I remember, it isn’t real.

I feel your warm skin next to mine,
Before we sleep, a kiss goodnight.
When dawn breaks, so does my heart,
Because I feel emptiness on my right.
And that’s when I remember, it isn’t real.

– J.M. (2014)

Author: Bryan Yap

Food enthusiast, amateur photographer & aspiring revolutionary

Leave a Reply

