2017

On the one year anniversary of the creation of this blog,

It is that time of year again: New Year’s Eve. The night where people either go out partying and getting drunk, or spending time with their loved ones, or just lamenting on how shit the past one year has been. So I thought, why not do all in one?

Here I sit, at my desk with a glass of wine and some of my best friends chilling on my bed. The past year has been somewhat of a rocky ride, but I suppose we all say that every year. Every year has it’s ups and downs, twists and turns all around.

2016 being a total pain in the ass has become an internet sensation. I admit there have been really tough times, but also plenty of great ones to make this year amongst the most interesting and eventful ones of my life.

Among the highlights of my year were the times when I…
… got my camera and fell in love with photography
… finished my diploma course and graduated from ICAN this year.
… got my first full time job at Maxis as a customer care consultant.
… was in a relationship and was cheated on.
… flew in a plane for the first time in ten years.
… visited a foreign country for the first time – Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam.
… enrolled in Taylor’s University and made an amazing bunch of friends, comrades.
… lost my phone and caused a fuss.
… came out to my family.
… witnessed and was involved in so much drama, of myself and my friends’.
… fell in love again.
… got caught by the police.
… realised too many things (a la Kylie Jenner)
… started drinking alcohol, going to bars and such.
… etc.

The list goes on.

But the main point is that, 2016 is over. The new year is approaching at maximum velocity and I think I am very much ready to face 2017 head on. Through the bad times, I learnt to be patient. Through my job, I learnt to communicate. Through the completion of my diploma, I learnt to be confident and believed in myself. Through university, I was exposed to the different backgrounds of people and their mindsets. Through this year I learnt many things about life.

It’s time for you to fuck off, 2016. I’m welcoming 2017 with all that I’ve gained and I’m going to be a better person.

Author: Bryan Yap

Food enthusiast, amateur photographer & aspiring revolutionary

Leave a Reply

