Fire

As a kid, I used to be mesmerised by the water. How flexible and fluid and adaptable water can be. It takes on any shape and form, and can transform from liquids to solids and gases. It was the personification of change, yet retaining an aura of elegance about it.

I used to think my personality element was water — quick to adapt, aloof, carefree — but then I grow up and realised my fascination with water, was because it was the polar opposite of my inner self: Fire

Fire, the element of passion and anger and love and so much more, defines me better than water does. I am hot-headed. I get into arguments and I don’t like losing. I am passionate in whatever I do and whatever I pursue. I am brilliant in mind, thoughts and ideas sparking at even the oddest of times. Fire, is not a constant element. Like water, it can change and can adapt. When you thought the wind would blow it out, it just grows stronger and hotter. It is the element of resilience. “Keep the fire going, one day it will lift you up,” I thought to myself while watching them inflate hot air balloons two weekends ago.

It’s not all good though. Nothing is ever perfect, right? Fire is also a force of destruction. It both creates and destroys. Perhaps that is why in various mythological theories gods wield fire as celestial weapons or sources of energy, or why in the Bible it’s said that God’s language was delivered by tongues of fire, and the list goes on. It is a source of power.

I am fire, and my companion shall be water. Different yet essential for life. Maybe that’s why I am so fascinated and mystified by the water and why I keep coming back to it.

Author: Bryan Yap

Food enthusiast, amateur photographer & aspiring revolutionary

Leave a Reply

